Sideboard Layout

Layout is one of the hardest parts for me…

I spent a good portion of the day yesterday laying out parts for the sideboard. I worked through the entire stack, picking out the best fits for the project based upon grain, color, and wood movement potential. It deffinately helps to take the time now and mark everything out.

IMG_4754

I don’t have a dedicated space for my shop. It’s part time shop – part time garage. Therefore, I spent a little extra time restacking the lumber pile in the order that the parts will be used. The boards selected for top and bottom mouldings, for example, are on the bottom of the pile. On top of the pile, are boards like that shown above – bottom & side – which I will use at the start of the project…constructing the carcase.

Glad this task is over…it was tedious, and required some serious brain power. It is becoming evident how invloved this project will be.

IMG_4765 IMG_4762

Now I am tired, but excited to start making some cuts.

-JR

 

 

 

