Eastern White Pine Sideboard Kick-off

Feels good to kick-off another project…

Here’s a pic of the design. Clicking on the link will take you to my Sketchup Models page. From there, a click on the pic will take you to the 3D Warehouse in case you would like to download the model.

Buffet

The carcase is constructed with dovetails at the bottom and at the top where it joins a web-frame. There is a second (lower) web-frame that supports the drawers, and also serves to create a division between the drawers and the lower cabinets. There’s also a divider panel that separates the two lower cabinets.

The doors are basic frame and panel construction. They will feature mortise and tenon joinery with a floating panel. The drawers are constructed with half blind dovetails at the front and through dovetails at the back. The “panel” for the bottom of the drawer will float, allowing for wood expansion at the back of the drawer.

I am going to attempt to make my own moulding for the top and bottom moulding on this project. I came up with something for the model, but that design is not yet set in stone. Actually, anything at this point is fair game…I usually make some changes as I work my way through the build.

As I mentioned in the previous post, all the exterior portions of the sideboard (except for the back panels) will feature eastern white pine. All interior portions will be constructed with poplar…the back panels will be poplar as well. The poplar is going to save me some cash, and should wear better on those drawers over time.

Can’t wait to get started…

JR

