Chiffonier shelf cross rails

Let’s make some shelves…

As always, I started flattening and truing one face of the board…it just so happened, the first board drove me crazy. Every once in a while, I get one of these boards that for some reason, just won’t cooperate with me…or perhaps I was just off my game.

I continued to work this board for a long time, until I realized I lost almost a full 1/4″ of material. I got it as close as I could and called it done. When the time came to final thickness of all the boards for the shelf cross rails, I had to go with the least thick board…my friend who wouldn’t cooperate. As a result, all these pieces ended up being around 1/2″ instead of my goal of 3/4″.

This really is no big deal at all…I actually prefer this thickness now for the shelves. It seems to lighten the middle of the chiffonier and balance the piece overall. I compare it to a drawer that has 1/2″ sides with a 3/4″ front face. Those 1/2″ sides keep the drawer from looking too bulky…that is exactly what the 1/2″ cross rails do for this chiffonier…funny how things just work out.

Anyways, here they are in final dimension…ready to be marked up for tenons.

20130206-185626.jpg

I’ve got (16) sets of mortise and tenons to house these four boards into the sides of the two panels of the chiffonier.

– JR

