Chiffonier Kick-off

20121128-192406.jpg

Here’s an introduction to the next big project for VCF. I will be building this one for my nieces…hope they get a lot of use out of it.

What is a chiffonier? I had to look this one up…looks like it’s french? Basically, it’s a dressing station. This one will have a hanging rod, two shelves, a full length mirror, and some hooks for hanging accessories.

I chose American cherry (with my sister’s approval) for this project. I have been wanting to work with it for some time now, and the perfect opportunity came along…a.k.a. the wood was on sale.

You can download the Sketchup file if you like. Click on the photo above to navigate to the 3D warehouse, or visit my Sketchup page from the menu at the top of this page.

The two sides are frame and panel construction with drawbored mortise and tenon joinery. A floating solid wood panel will be on one side, and the other side will feature a mirror within the frame. The frame and panel sides will then join the top and bottom shelves with through mortise and tenons. Check out the Sketchup model for more details.

I ordered the lumber earlier this week, and I am anxiously awaiting it’s arrival. I went with mail order, so I won’t know what I get until I crack open the shipping crate. It’s 100% satisfaction guarantee so I have know worries, just anticipation. I can’t wait to get my hand planes on that cherry.

…must be strong and resist the crave to plane before the wood acclimates to the shop.

– JR

