Lyme Woodworking

I’ve been absent from posting for a while now. I had a recent flare up from Lyme Disease…nasty little bacteria.

After some more anti-biotics, I’m feeling much better. It’s a constant battle that hopefully will go away for good sometime soon.

Its quite difficult sometimes to get through projects when a certain technique can put you out of commission. Sharpening my scrapers did this to me onetime.

I would love to try and use some hand planes to surface a ruff sawn board down to final dimension, however I am not sure what kind of physical pain this will cause me.

I always had an attitude toward athletes when they wouldn’t play through injury, thinking that they were soft or weak. Now I have a feeling I know what that is like. It’s very frustrating to know that you have to hold back when your entire life you’ve had this internal drive to keep pushing on.

Woodworking has become a challenge for me in a way I never thought it would. I’m sure there are others out there like me, and I empathize with them.

I leave them with this one inspiring thought. Many Woodworkers may build the exact same project, and they all may come out looking the same, however yours is of greater value because of what you had to endure and overcome.

-JR

One thought on “Lyme Woodworking

Comments are closed.